CF-X-Logo-1200x630px Facebook

Our annual writing competition opens

17 January 2023

We’re excited to announce our 2023 Writers’ Award competition is officially open for entries from all underrepresented writers!

The theme for our 10th Awards is ‘X.’ Your work should respond to the theme, implicitly or explicitly, but we’re looking for quality writing first and foremost. The theme is a creative prompt, not a requirement. Send us your best work!

Twelve writers in three categories will receive:

This year we have a new genre for our competition, creative non-fiction. You can read more about this here.

Our 2023 judges are British poet Wayne Holloway-Smithexperimental Nigerian British author Irenosen Okojieand writer, editor and publisher Nina Mingya Powles.

You have until Sunday 14 May 2023, 11.59 pm to enter your poetry (up to 50 lines), fiction or creative non-fiction pieces (up to 2000 words).

You can enter online, by email, or by post. Before you apply, it’s really important that you check our rules and that you’re eligible. We aim to make it as easy as possible to submit work.

The best way to get a sense of what we’re looking for is by looking at previous winners’ work. You can do this by purchasing our previous anthologies here.

If you need some tips or advice on perfecting your craft, check out some of our handy resources here and you might find our Pathway Guide for Writers helpful too.

Happy submitting! We look forward to reading your entries. Enter here

Sign up to our Mailing List

Sign up to receive communications from Creative Future, including opportunities, updates on activities and more.

Shopping Basket
Skip to content