Kerry Hudson

Kerry Hudson’s TONY HOGAN BOUGHT ME AN ICE-CREAM FLOAT BEFORE HE STOLE MY MA (Chatto & Windus) was the winner of the Scottish First Book Award while also being shortlisted for the Southbank Sky Arts Literature Award, Guardian First Book Award, Green Carnation Prize, Author’s Club First Novel Prize and the Polari First Book Award. Kerry’s second novel, THIRST, was published in 2014 by Chatto & Windus and won France’s most prestigious award for foreign fiction the Prix Femina Étranger. It was also shortlisted for the European Premio Strega in Italy. Her non-fiction book, LOWBORN, takes her back to the towns of her childhood as she investigates her own past and what it means to be poor in Britain today. Kerry also founded The WoMentoring Project.

Anthony Anaxagorou

Anthony Anaxagorouis a British Cypriot award-winning poet, fiction writer, essayist and publisher. He has written several volumes of poetry, a spoken-word EP and a collection of short stories; his latest collection is After the Formalities(Penned in the Margins, 2019). He’s an honorary fellow at the University of Roehampton where he lectures in the humanities.  His poetry has appeared in Poetry, The Poetry Review, Granta, The Rialto, Oxford Poetry, Wildness, The Feminist Review and elsewhere. It’s also been featured on BBC Radio 4, BBC Newsnight, BBC Radio London, ITV, Vice UK, Channel 4 and Sky Arts. 

Aki Schilz

Aki Schilz is the Director of The Literary Consultancy, the UK’s longest-running editorial consultancy. She is a Trustee of Poetry London, and sits on the advisory board ofPenned in the Margins. Aki is a judge for the Bridport First Novel Award and sits on its steering committee. She is also a prize-winning writer of poetry and fiction, and co-founder of the Saboteur Award-shortlisted #LossLit digital literature project. In 2018 Aki was named as one of the FutureBook 40 (a list of the top 40 innovators in UK publishing), and nominated for an h100 Award for her #BookJobTransparency campaign and her work to improve representation and accessibility in the literature sector. She is also the founder of the Rebecca Swift Foundation, in memory of TLC’s founder and her boss and mentor. In 2019 Aki was shortlisted for the Kim Scott-Walwyn Prize. 

@TLCUK @AkiSchilz

Sarala Estruch

Sarala Estruch is the MA and Editorial Manager at the Poetry School, the UK's largest provider of poetry education. She is also a writer, poet and critic. Her poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction and reviews have appeared in journals and newspapers including The Poetry ReviewWasafiri and The Guardian, and have been featured on BBC Radio 3. Sarala is a former winner of the Poetry School/Nine Arches Press Primers competition and a member of the Ledbury Poetry Critics. Her poetry short ‘The English Dream’ appears in Primers: Volume Three (Nine Arches Press, 2018). @poetryschool @saralaestruch

2020 CFWA Writer in Residence Akila Richards

Creative Future’s 2020 Writer In Residence Akila Richards’ is a writer, poet, and spoken word artist. Her poetry and short stories have been published by Penguin, Peepal Tree Press, and Waterloo Press. She adapted her short story Secret Chamber into a theatre play, and recently produced a soundscape, ‘New Grounding,’ for Dulwich Picture Gallery from her poem After the Destruction for the ‘Journeys’ project. Some of her writing gives voice to the Black German experience and on migrating in multiple ways. Her collaboration with visual artists (printing poems on textiles) has led to regional exhibitions. Akila’s portfolio includes programming and managing creative and diverse community projects including ‘Africa Beyond’ at Southbank, Refugee Week events, and currently the Lit Up Mentoring/Publishing Scheme with Waterloo Press. Akila also programmed for the Mboka Literature Festival 2019 in Gambia and the UK. She is currently completing her poetry collection and writing a novel, culminated from a selection of her short stories based on the same character.

Sign up to our Mailing List

Sign up to receive communications from Creative Future, including opportunities, updates on activities and more.

Scroll to Top