Since its inception in 2013 CFWA stays in regular contact with all 96 award winners – creating supportive, nurturing relationships that enable underrepresented writers to thrive, build on the confidence garnered as a result of their award, and develop their careers. Previous winners have gone on to secure publication and win notable competitions. This has included in just the past year alone:

Past Winners

2021 winners

  • Shazia Altaf was shortlisted for the Primadonna Prize, received an Arts Council project grant, and appeared at Untitled Writing’s Underrep’d Festival. She acquired an agent as a direct result of winning the CF Platinum Award, after sending her mss. out to over 100 agents
  • Farah Ahamed was also longlisted for the Primadonna Prize and was on the 2022 Commonwealth Short Story Prize shortlist
  • Jess Murrain won first prize in the Ledbury Poetry Competition and her debut pamphlet was published by Bad Betty in May 2022
  • Rhiya Pau won the 2022 Eric Gregory Award from The Society of Authors for her Arachne Press collection, Routes
  • Jem Henderson has their debut pamphlet being published with Nine Pens in July 2022

All past winners

  • Jarred McGinnis (2013) had his memoir published by Canongate in 2021
  • Dolly Sen (2013) received an Unlimited award for her multi-media project ‘Birdsong From Inobservable Worlds’ 
  • Penny Pepper (2013) was a guest on BBC Radio 4's Saturday Live! January 2021. Penny is in the Power100, a list of the 100 most influential disabled people in the UK
  • Cathy Bryant (2013) had her third collection published by Arachne Press
  • Sanya Semakula (2015) is now an assistant editor at Influx Press 
  • Des Mannay (2015) had his first collection published by Waterloo Press
  • Jackie Hagan (2015) received an Unlimited commission for her show and festival tour. This Is Not A Safe Space blended audience interaction, DIY puppetry, poetic comedy, and comedic poetry
  • Peter Jordan (2016) was published in the anthology A Wild and Precious Life (Unbound, 2021)
  • Romalyn Ante (2016 & 2017) was shortlisted for the 2021 Jhalak Prize, included in Poetry London’s 100th issue, and started Tsaa With Roma, an interview series with other underrepresented writers. After being nominated by Creative Future, she was awarded a Jerwood Compton Poetry Fellowship 
  • Maeve Clarke (2016) is part of the creative team for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games
  • Day Mattar (2017) had his first pamphlet published by Broken Sleep. He secured an Arts Council project grant for the second iteration of Queer Bodies, a poetry development/publishing project in partnership including with Creative Future
  • Megan Holland (2017) won 2nd prize in the Hinterland Prize
  • Yvonne Reddick (2018) was published in the New Statesman
  • Jade Cuttle (2018) was a judge for the 2021 Gingko Prize and won the Northern Debut for Poetry in the New Writing North 2021 Northern Writers Awards
  • Natalie Linh Bolderston (2018) won the Society of Authors Eric Gregory Award, a Spread the Word London Writers Award, and was shortlisted for the Forward Prize 2021 (Best Single Poem)
  • Kirsty Capes (2018) had her debut novel, Careless, published by Orion. It was selected as a best book of 2021 pick by the Guardian, Good Housekeeping, the BBC, Cosmopolitan, and the Daily Mail
  • Lisette Auton (2018) has a debut middle-grade novel forthcoming from Puffin in 2022, with a second book to follow in 2023. Writing The Missing, a New Writing North commission for Durham Book Festival, was shortlisted for Performance of the Year at the Journal Culture Awards. She also published an incisive article, ‘Difference and Disability,’ in the Bookseller
  • Anita Goveas (2018) had her first flash fiction collection published by Reflex Press
  • Alice Hiller (2018) had her first collection published by Pavilion, which was shortlisted for the Forward Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection
  • Sadie Nott (2018) was shortlisted for the Bridport Short Story Prize and Reflex Fiction longlist
  • Susan Downer (2019) was shortlisted for the Queen Mary Wasafiri New Writing Prize
  • Iqbal Hussain (2019) was published in the Guardian, awarded an Arts Council DYCP grant, shortlisted for the Retreat West/Galley Beggar First Chapter competition, and selected for Mainstream (Inkandescent), an anthology of 30 underrepresented writers including Kit de Waal and Kerry Hudson. He was selected for the Harper Collins Author Academy 
  • Natalia Theodoridou (2019) was shortlisted for the Galley Beggar Press Short Story Prize and acquired an agent for her novel
  • Michelle Perkins (2019) was awarded the inaugural Laura Kinsella Fellowship by the National Centre for Writing
  • Kitty Donnelly (2019) published her first collection with Indigo Dreams, and was selected by Carol Ann Duffy for a poetry project responding to the pandemic
  • Alex Mazey (2019) has had two essay collections published by Broken Sleep Books
  • Tom Ward (2020) acquired an agent for his novel as a result of his CF Award and Next Up mentoring
  • Sallyanne Rock (2020) has her debut pamphlet coming from Fawn Press in 2022 
  • Laura Leung-how (2020) won a Spread The Word London Writers’ Award
  • Helen Bowell (2020) was Poetry Business Digital Poet in Residence
  • Chloe Elliott (2020) was published in Bad Betty’s Survival anthology, the Birmingham Literary Journal, and has work forthcoming with Bedtime Stories for the End of the World

Sign up to our Mailing List

Sign up to receive communications from Creative Future, including opportunities, updates on activities and more.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top