How It Started (ebook)


HOW IT STARTED is an anthology of winning entries from the 2022 Creative Future Writers’ Award, the only national competition for all underrepresented writers—those whose voices are not heard in the mainstream due to health, mental health, ethnicity, disability, identity or social circumstance.

Here you’ll find powerful short stories and inspiring poems reflecting on the theme, from talented new voices alongside work by best-selling author Dorothy Koomson (I Know What You’ve Done), award-winning poet Joelle Taylor (C+nto & Othered Poems), and poet Sarala Estruch.

The winning writers are:
Lerah Mae Barcenilla, K Devan, Karen Downs-Barton, Anne Elicaño-Shields, Jay Farley, Alex Joynes, Hannah Lee, Olivia Mark, Yvonne McLeod, Oluwaseun Olayiwola, Helen Price, and Nnadi Samuel.


Please note:

When you order the eBook, you’ll be sent it directly as a downloadable file to your email address. You will receive the eBook in Mobi and ePub versions. Want to know the difference between the two? Click here to find out more.


We cannot provide our anthologies as PDFs or other formats. We aren’t able to offer technical support on e-books, due to the wide range of e-book readers and software.


Sign up to our Mailing List

Sign up to receive communications from Creative Future, including opportunities, updates on activities and more.

Shopping Basket
Skip to content